You Are Currently Reading
Guest Artists, Next 1T Art Walk

Sierra Montoya / Tierra Sol Designs at The OK Hotel

Guest Artist: Sierra Montoya / Tierra Sol Designs
When:  1T Art Walk, August 2
Where:  The OK Hotel

The Arts Collective at the OK Hotel welcomes Sierra Montoya / Tierra Sol Designs!

About the Artist    

I create my art in order to portray the beauty and wonder of this living Earth. I draw all my inspiration from nature and take pride in depicting it through the alternative art forms of fiber art and mixed media. I believe in the power of fabric and other “craft” materials to make art that rivals so-called “fine” art. It brings me great satisfaction to translate the Earth’s beauty into textiles. Fabric is a language spoken throughout human history used for survival, comfort, and beauty and I feel a connection with my ancestors when I speak it.

Having been a creator of and an advocate for “functional fiber art”

for the last few years, I have recently begun exploring purely aesthetic art. I am intrigued by the borderlands, the in between, that time in space when two things meet and become one. Tidelands, dawn, dusk, the blending of the seasons… all are an intermingling of time and place that I wish to explore through my work with textiles.

The Earth provides me with all the inspiration I could ever need and I can’t help but want to mimic her beauty through my own medium. And like the natural world, I ask nothing of the viewer. Only to let it be, let the image remind you of who we are and why we belong on this unique and most sacred Earth.

 

Contact info:

 

TierraSolDesigns@gmail.com  OR  Sierra Montoya on Facebook
TierraSol.Etsy.com

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment